Zany copy editor and writer with more than 25 years’ experience in everything from advertising to petting zoos! Am I meticulous? Heck, I get on my own nerves sometimes, that’s how much attention I pay to details. "I am not making this up" – Dave Barry

In September, I moved from the big-city evils of St. Petersburg, FL to the most glorious town in the stateWacahoota Road Micanopy 2014 – High Springs. I’d been coming up to visit a dear friend here on her horse farm. I always said, “I’m gonna live up here one day.”

She said, “I’ll believe it when I see it.”

Well, when my beloved Golden Retriever, Barbara, passed away, I could no longer live in the house where we’d shared so many happy and horrendous memories. I saw her everywhere I looked. I hated to venture out of the house when she was in my life, and with her gone, I became a recluse. Cried and missed my best friend. She had such great times here. I brought her up here when I knew then end was near, and we had the time of our lives. Road trips, running without a leash in green fields, chasing horses, barking at the big TV.

I knew I had to be here. My house sold four days after I signed with the Realtor. I moved here and feel myself unwinding, letting go of the anxiety and sorrow.

Clear rivers and streams for kayaking. Winding country roads that might lead to an endless field of cotton or big rolls of hay to infinity.

I keep waiting for something bad to happen. God, I miss my dog, but I know she’s with me. She would have wanted me to follow my dream. Something about doing that has released the weight in my soul and psyche. I can sleep! I don’t have to keep the TV on as a way to drown out the sirens and traffic.

Are you living your dream? Do you even have one? It doesn’t have to be something as big as moving away. Dreams come in all sizes. Find yours, and pursue it. Then you’ll know the feeling of and joy and empowerment that comes with knowing YOU (and God, and maybe a special four-legged “child”) dreamed it…then achieved it!

Comments on: "Is it possible to be in love with a town?" (2)

  1. So happy that you are happy.

    Love,

    Me

    Pat Sabiston

    4412 Fletcher Street

    Panama City, Florida 32405

    Phone: (850) 769-4345

    FAX: (850) 769-4348

    WebSite: http://www.patsabiston.com

    E-Mail: patsabiston@irawriter.com

Leave a Reply

